Home » Tank and the Bangas Tiny Desk, Bio, Wiki, Discography, Tour, History.
Tanks and the Bangas Main Members.

Tank and the Bangas Tiny Desk, Bio, Wiki, Discography, Tour, History.

Tanks and the Bangas Bio.

Tank and the Bangas is an American musical group based in New Orleans, Louisiana.

The group won the 2017 NPR Tiny Desk Competition, and in November 2019, they received a nomination for the 2020 Grammy Awards in the Best New Artist category. Thinktank (2013), Green Balloon (2019), and Red Balloon are their three studio albums (2022).

Tanks and the Bangas History.

Tank and the Bangas was founded in 2011 when its members connected at an open mic event in New Orleans called Liberation Lounge at the now-defunct Blackstar Café and Books in the Algiers neighborhood.

Tanks and the Bangas Wiki.

  • Origin: New Orleans, Louisiana.
  • Country: USA.
  • Genres: Funk, Soul, Hip hop, Rock, Spoken Word.
  • Years Active: 2011- Present.
  • Members: Tarriona “Tank” Ball, Anjelika “Jelly” Joseph, Joshua Johnson, Norman Spence, Albert Allenback
  • Website: tank and the bangas.

Tanks and the Bangas Style.

According to Heather Rudow’s article in The Washingtonian, the group’s music is a “lively combination of funk, soul, hip hop, rock, and spoken word.”

The musicians in the ensemble identified with a range of musical styles in their interviews with the Times-Picayune, including rock, folk, gospel, and Anjelika “Jelly” Joseph’s creation “Soulful Disney.”

Tanks and Banags have also cited anime as having influenced its “childlike” and “magical” sensibilities, in addition to Disney, according to Ball.

According to Joshua David Stein in the Financial Times, “The jazz tropes that are paraded around the lobbies of convention hotels and milked down Frenchman Street don’t apply to Tank and the Bangas. New Orleans is what it is right now.”

Tanks and the Bangas Discography.

The group has produced 1 studio album, 1 live album, 24 music videos, 5 EP’s ans 23 singles.

The following are some of their singles.

1)Think Tank.

  • Released: December 19, 2013
  • Label: Self-released
  • Formats: CD, LP, digital download, streaming

2) Green Baloon.

3)Red Baloon.

  • Released: May 13, 2022
  • Label: Verve Forecast, UMG
  • Formats: CD, LP, digital download, streaming

4)The Big Bang Theory: Live at Gasa Gasa( Live Album)

  • Released: December 5, 2014
  • Label: Self-released
  • Format: CD, digital download, streaming

Tanks and the Bangas New Album.

The group’s newest album is the Red Baloon.

Red Balloon’s musical landscape is primarily a well-known territory for Tank and the Bangas. Red Balloon’s music is colorful and combines the soulful jazz and funk of their homeland with hip-hop and pop.

While her comrades Albert Allenback (alto saxophone, flute), Norman Spence II (bass, keyboards), and Joshua Johnson (drums) build a complex musical environment beneath her, Tarriona “Tank” Ball’s highly expressive voice gracefully navigates through strong hip-hop beats and disco-funk.

Red Balloon, however, ventures into uncharted areas lyrically. Exhaustion and anxiety, which were present when the COVID-19 epidemic was being created, are woven with the frequently contradictorily joyful instrumentation and arranging.

Ball’s emotional lyrical clarity strengthens the album’s atmosphere rather than confusing or sapping it.

Tanks and the Bangas Tour And Awards.

Tank and the Bangas won as the 2017 Tiny Desk Contest winner “The band’s performance of “Quick,”.

According to Bob Boilen, co-host of All Songs Considered on NPR, “won me over with the interactions between lead singer Tarriona “Tank” Ball and her bandmates, and the way they seemed to surprise one another.

Everything seemed very natural and spontaneous.” I fell in love with this right away…Tank is a force of nature, just full of joy—and her band is killing in the background,” stated Phish member Trey Anastasio, a juror.

An edition of NPR’s Global Cafe program for important and up-and-coming musicians featured the tale of how Tank’s voice changed over time.

Buy Tank and the Bangas tickets from the official Ticketmaster.com site. Find Tank and the Bangas tour schedule, concert details, reviews, and photos.

Tanks and the Banga Current Members.

The group has 4 current members, each of them playing a different role:

  • Tarriona “Tank” Ball – lead vocals (2011–present)
  • Joshua Johnson – drums, musical director (2011–present)
  • Norman Spence II – bass, keyboards, guitar (2011–present)
  • Albert Allenback – alto saxophone, flute (2016–present.

They also have touring members. These are members who only play at live concerts and some album tracks.

  • Anjelika “Jelly” Joseph – background vocals (2013–present)
  • Danny Abel – guitar (2018)
  • Jonathan Johnson – bass (2017–present)
  • Etienne Stoufflet – tenor saxophone (2019-present)
  • Kayla Jasmine – vocals (2016–2019

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

error: Content is protected !!